In 1973 Anthony Mc Gurk became the first player from Derry to be awarded an All Star Award.

The 1980s saw the county win two further All-Ireland Minor Championships (19) and their fifth Ulster Senior Championship (1987).

In 1958, the county won its first ever Ulster Senior Football Championship and caused a massive shock in that year's All-Ireland semi-final, beating Kerry thanks to a Sean O'Connell goal three minutes from the end.

Derry won the 2008 National League; their sixth in all.

In recent years they have been overshadowed in the Ulster Senior Championship by the emergence of Tyrone and Donegal, but having topped Division 2 of the NFL in 2013, Derry returns to the Division 1 for the 2014 season.

The GAA in the county is administered by a County Committee (or County Board) with a representative from each GAA club in the County, a Management Committee and a variable number of sub-committees. The group leaders were invited to play in the League semi-finals because heavy snow had disrupted the competition.

Francie Niblock scored one of the finest goals in League history in Croke Park as Derry beat Clare.

In 1965 the Derry Minor team won the All-Ireland Minor Championship, and three years later at Under 21 the bulk of that team captured the All-Ireland Under 21 Championship.

Derry won the Ulster Senior Championship three times in the 1970s (1970, 19), but failed to advance past the All-Ireland semi-final stage on each occasion.The county board is also responsible for the Derry inter-county teams.Gaelic football is the most popular of the county board's gaelic games.The senior football team won an All-Ireland Senior Football Championship in 1993, and has also won six National League titles and seven Ulster Championships.However, the administration of Gaelic sports in the county took some time to get properly organised.Since the 1960s there has been a tradition of annually selecting the best footballer in each position, to create a special team of the year.